**SPECIAL REPORT** SECOND CITY SIGNING – 18th July 2015 (St. Andrews, Birmingham, UK)

11230913_10205037181464531_3591040816230334150_nWow! Wow! Wow! And, wow! What a day! Tina and myself had been excited about this day to come for many months. And with us never having been to an event like this before we weren’t entirely sure just how amazing it was going to be. It met our expectations and so much more – I still can’t get over the buzz and sheer excitement of it all. So many like-minded people in one place certainly created the electric atmosphere we could have only dreamed of had it not been for the fun, friendly authors, assistants, readers, bloggers, models and staff!

Contemporary and erotic romance readers were in their element here! It was very interesting to see that there were YA, horror, poetry and crime writers too! Just perfect for what our blog covers. Authors were from local areas, such as Nuneaton and Leamington Spa, and from as far afield as Eastern Europe and the US. There was plenty of swag, books and competitions, as well as one of the highlights – the cover models!!

SCS

swag

Yes, we were welcomed at the door by no other than the Scott King – it’s amazing how shy some of the ladies get when he’s there in the flesh – Tina and myself included! Then there was the cheeky photo we had with Rick Fitt from Uncovered Models (here’s mine, Tina’s is further down). My only regret is that I didn’t get a signed postcard from him!! I loved how the models, many of whom are featured on books whose authors were present, mingled and were available for photo’s and signings.

Rick Fitt cb

CAKEIt was an absolute pleasure to meet YA paranormal author, Pat Spence (below centre right), after reviewing her Blue Moon (The Blue Crystal trilogy #1) last year (beautiful cake of Pat’s Blue Moon, left), and her assistant, Tracie Smith-Band (below far right) who also runs a blog at Vampy and Racey Bookblog.

Pat Spence Tracie Smith-Band twcb

Holly J Gill (below 1) has been a great online friend for some time, retweeting us very often – thanks, Holly! We are also pleased to say that C.P. Mandara (below 2) was also well known to us and Amy-Beth when we have featured her release of Wyatt.

Holly Gill tw

CP Mandara twcb

With over 50 authors to visit, it was fairly clear from the beginning that there was no way we would get to meet every single one. But, with our signature sheets (below) we did manage to get 43!! Not bad!! And we did try to spend some time with each author we met. (A list of the authors can be found at the bottom of this post, along with links to their site!) This little, fun game of collecting each author’s signature was a cute idea – just too little time. I’m sure we could have stayed for at least another couple of hours, despite our feet and backs needing a good rub!!

signature sheet

Tina’s Thoughts on the Day

Ten awesome stars for Second City Signing!

Second City Signing was a fabulous event which far, far exceeded all my expectations! Thank you so much to author Cassandra P Lewis and all those involved, including the super team of volunteers. It was my first signing (yes I popped that particular cherry) and what a blast! I advise book lovers everywhere to give events like this a go – I’ll be scouring the internet for my next event as soon as I’ve caught my breath. Highlights for me included:

Going with my BFF and co-blogger Caroline, who is always such good company and knows how to have fun.  😉

Chatting to some of the authors, bloggers and reviewers I already knew on social media, but hadn’t met in person, including Holly J Gill, Isobelle Cate (below 1), Christina P Mandara, Pat Spence, Tracey at Tracey’s Vampy and Racy Book Blog and CJ Fallowfield (below 2).

Isobelle Cate tw

CJ Fallowfield twcb

Meeting authors that were new to me and finding out about them and their books. They were all so, so friendly and I now have even more reads to add to my ever expanding ‘to read’ list!

Coming away with bagfuls of books for me to stroke, sniff and read, including works by Tracie Podger (below 2), Holly J Gill, Nikki Blaise, C.P. Mandara, LP Lovell (below 3), Alina Popescu (below 4), S J Warner (below 5), Krissy V and Isobelle Cate!

Books

Tracie Podger

LP Lovell twcb

Alina Popescu

SJ Warner tw

The hotties! The male cover models. Of course being the shy and retiring type I only managed one close encounter (a photo), but a girl can dream!

Rick Fitt & tw

Last but not least, the swag, which added all the more to the fun and frolicks! My ‘Swag Bag Award’Spoon 2 goes to CP Mandara, who included  a spanking spoon, for very good girls and a pair of pink, fluffy handcuffs. The spoon is on display in our kitchen and I’ve informed hubby that I am on my best behaviour for the next few days. 😉

Look out for some super swag giveaways on our blog soon!

Lessons Learned

1. Take male assistant/slave to carry books and swag (or failing this a trolley with wheels), to prevent injury to back.

2. Attend party on night to extend fun and frolicks into the small hours!

Will I be going again?

You bet – fingers crossed that there’s one planned for next year! ❤ – Tina

Yes, I have to agree that it was a regret to not go to the after event party – something we will hopefully be doing next time round! However, we can use the time in between to hopefully build on those new friendships we have found. We are planning to host an individual post on each author and their work to date – watch out as some may be with offers to win some swag, author interviews, excerpts, and more. Not to mention the reviews too!

Authors we were newly acquainted with are SJ Molloy (below 1), RJ Sable (below 2), Carrie Elks (below 3), Sarah Elizabeth (below 4), Lisa J. Hobman (below 5), E.J. Shortall – whose book I have on order for review (below 6), and V.L. Moon (below 7).

SJ Molloy

RJ Sable twcb

Carrie Elks twcb

Sarah Elizabeth twcb

Lisa Hobden Lissy Jay

EJ Shortall tw Brit Babe

VL Moon

Nicola C Priest is a star in our eyes as she is currently organising an author signing event in Chester for April 2017. You may wish to put your name down if you are interested in attending – you can contact Nicola at this site.

Nicola C Priest

It was an absolute pleasure to have so many authors give us so much of their time. I’m sure everybody felt well loved and appreciated. Jessie Courts, Hemmie Martin and J. G. Clay were also fun to chat with – thank you!

It is with regret that we didn’t have chance to visit every author attending. However, we will still be following their work and contacting them shortly. It would be fantastic if we could do this all over again. Again, thank you to all those who set up this brilliant event, all of the volunteers, staff, authors, assistants and models. This has made our year, and we absolutely, certainly, definitely have the bug. You are all an inspiration! Thank you!!

Caroline & Tina ❤

And, finally, here is a list of all the authors attending. Please click on the links to check out their websites/Facebook pages 🙂

Alina Popescu

Amy-Beth

Bethan Cooper

C.A. Ellis

C.J. Fallowfield

C.P. Mandara

Caroline Batten

Carrie Anne Ward

Carrie Elks

Cassandra P Lewis

Claire C. Riley

Courtney Cross

E.J. Shortall

Elena Matthews

D. Breeze

Frank van der Kok

G.G. Carver

Hemmie Martin

Holly J. Gill

Isobelle Cate

J.A. Heron

J. G. Clay

Jessie Courts

Jodi Ellen Malpas

Ker Dukey

Keren Hughes

Kirsty-Anne Still

Krissy V

Kyra Lennon

L. Chapman

L.A. Cotton

L.P. Lovell

Laura Morgan

Lisa J. Hobman

M.B. Feeney

Marie Coulson

Nicola C. Priest

Nikki Groom

Pat Spence

R.J. Sable

Rebecca Sherwin

S.J. Molloy

S.J. Warner

S.M. Phillips

Samantha Fontien

Sarah Elizabeth

Sophie Jackson

Sydney Jamesson

T.L. Messruther

Theresa Sederholt

Tracie Podger

V.L. Moon

& Uncovered Models

 

 

Second City Signing 2015

Tina and myself are excited to be attending Birmingham’s (UK) first major indie author event on Saturday. You may recognise one author from our blog, Pat Spence, who will be attending. We reviewed her YA Paranormal ‘Blue Moon’ last year! If you’re not booked up for anything this weekend, please come along and join in the fun!!!!

Author Keren Hughes

View original post 110 more words

COVER REVEAL and GIVEAWAY for Madison Street’s **LITTLE BEGINNINGS** ~ Second Chances #1.5

We are very happy to reveal the new and gorgeous cover of Little Beginnings, a Second Chances novella by Madison Street. Little Beginnings is the continuation of Duke & Raya’s story. Tina ❤

 

Little Beginnings (Second Chances #1.5)

Madison Street

Cover designed by Lindee Robinson Photography

Goodreads

Expected Release: Fall 2014

Synopsis

After you took her from me, everything changed. I knew my life would never be the same, and it wasn’t. But just because I was isolated, trapped, and afraid, I never gave up. I kept on fighting. You thought you could control me, but you were wrong.

There’s one thing that you could never take from me; HOPE. And with that, I overcame the struggles and the despair. I battled against my inner demons and confronted the tortures that surrounded me. And here I am today; free.

And now, it’s you that’s confined. You cannot escape; you cannot win. There’s no one to help you now. Everyone sees you for what you truly are; a monster.

I’m not afraid of you anymore. I will start a new life; one that you cannot control. And as I take steps toward a new beginning, I won’t ever look back.
****WARNING: Suited for 18+ years of age. This book contains some disturbing situations, strong language and sexual content.****

Little Things (Second Chances #1)

Goodreads

Everything in Duke Grayson’s life was all he could ever ask for: A loving family, loyal friends, a beautiful girlfriend, and a scholarship to his top choice college. It’s his senior year of high school, and all he needs is to focus on his grades, lacrosse, and keeping his girlfriend happy. That is until Raya walks into his life.

From the moment they meet, Duke is drawn to her, not only for her natural beauty and her stunning crystal blue eyes, but because he’s aware there’s more to this girl than just his alluring pull to her. He senses secrecy and fear.

Throughout the year, their bond grows stronger, and his feelings for her become undeniable. Just when he is about to express his love, tragedy strikes and Raya disappears.

For six years, Duke is tortured by his struggles, as he’s unable to find her and blames himself for failing to protect her. Until the day, she’s found, and he’s given a second chance. Will Duke become her beacon of hope and make her see that it’s the little things that make life worthwhile? Can Raya overcome her fears and fight against the terrors that haunt her? Or will her dark and torturous past be too much for her to battle against?

*Warning: This book contains some disturbing situations, strong language and sexual content. Suited for 18 years and over.

Purchase Links

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

About Madison Street

Madison Street was born in New York City and was raised in the Bronx, where she resided until she was 17 years old. After 9/11, Madison joined the United States Navy to serve her country.

During the deployments, Madison constantly wrote short stories and she discovered her passion for writing. You will find Madison always on the computer, whether she’s on Facebook, designing websites, messing with Photoshop, or writing for her blog.

Besides writing, her second passion is music and dance. Even though she’s a terrible singer, she’ll still belt it out in the shower, especially if the song is her jam! She currently resides in Virginia with her husband of 8 years, 2 children, a dog, and a cat. She is so excited to start this amazing journey and is honored to be part of such a compassionate and loving community.

Contact Madison

Website Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Google +

a Rafflecopter giveaway

RELEASE DAY BLITZ for ~ *LITTLE THINGS (Second Chances #1)* ~ by Madison Street

 Super New Adult/Romantic Suspense 18+ read 

HUGE welcome today to author Madison Street! We are thrilled to share with you her novel Little Things and wish her every success!

Join us in checking out the blurb for this emotional and suspenseful love story, read an excerpt and teaser, immerse yourself in the playlist and connect with Madison. This novel is available for 99c for a limited time.

Tina ❤

Book Blurb

Everything in Duke Grayson’s life was all he could ever ask for: A loving family, loyal friends, a beautiful girlfriend, and a scholarship to his top choice college. It’s his senior year of high school, and all he needs is to focus on his grades, lacrosse, and keeping his girlfriend happy. That is until Raya walks into his life.

From the moment they meet, Duke is drawn to her, not only for her natural beauty and her stunning crystal blue eyes, but because he’s aware there’s more to this girl than just his alluring pull to her. He senses secrecy and fear.

Throughout the year, their bond grows stronger, and his feelings for her become undeniable. Just when he is about to express his love, tragedy strikes and Raya disappears.

For six years, Duke is tortured by his struggles, as he’s unable to find her and blames himself for failing to protect her. Until the day, she’s found, and he’s given a second chance. Will Duke become her beacon of hope and make her see that it’s the little things that make life worthwhile? Can Raya overcome her fears and fight against the terrors that haunt her? Or will her dark and torturous past be too much for her to battle against?

 *Warning: This book contains some disturbing situations, strong language and sexual content. Suited for 18 years and over.*

 

Little Things (Second Chances #1)

Madison Street

Genre: New Adult/Romantic Suspense

Release Date: June 2, 2014

Photography: Lindee Robinson Photography

Purchase Links

Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

 

Add to Goodreads

Early Reviews

“This book is a standalone and the epilogue is just the sweetest thing ever and it had me crying for a good 30 minutes and I mean ugly cry.

So eventhough this book talked about loads of things I’m not into reading this is probably one of the best books I’ve ever read. I’m so glad I was given a chance to read it before it got out and discover this little gem.

Thank you Madison for such a beautiful heartwrenching story!” ~ Fictional BookHos

“I was impressed with Little Things simply because it doesn’t follow the usual mold. Madison Street breaks outside of the mold in the gripping story about love, friendship, and struggle.” ~ Mad in Wonderland Reviews

“Let me start by saying “Little Things” was flipping fantastic! I started reading thinking oh wow what a great love story….and then boom..pow..bang….I got my socks knocked off my feet!

What an emotional roller coaster ride! I was literally tapping my leg and biting my nails through the suspense!” ~ Tricia, ARC recipient

Teasers

 

Playlist

 

Excerpt

I hear a whisper come up from behind me, “So, how’s your first party?” I know that voice anywhere. I turn around to find Duke smiling at me.

“It’s great! I’m having so much fun!”

“I’m glad. You’ve danced with Taylor all night. Usually he doesn’t dance at parties, so that was surprising.”

I glance towards Taylor who’s across the room, talking to Adam. “Oh well. He’s a good dance partner.”

“Wanna bet?” Duke grabs my hand and leads me onto the dance floor just in time for a new song to start. The speakers start to play “Timber” by Pitbull and the crowd goes wild as people begin to flood the dance area. My heart literally stops beating and I swear I can’t even breathe, I’m so freaking nervous. I notice that my hand fits so perfectly in Duke’s hand.

The crowd is so packed together that Duke and I are forced to dance closely; maybe a little too close. As the song starts, he sings the lyrics and we begin to groove to the music.

I laugh out loud and raise my hands above my head and sing along with him. The crowd is compact and everyone’s bodies continuously bump into one another. Duke looks at me and places his hand on my lower back. A shocking jolt of electricity flows through his touch and my eyes widen. He immediately removes his hand from my back and instead keeps his hand by his side. I can still feel the heat flow, where his hand was placed, and I miss it being there. We continue dancing as I give him a reassuring smile. He winks and continues to sing and twirls me around.

I bob my head to the beat and shake my body with every fiber I have. As we dance together, I no longer pay attention to what’s around me. It’s as if Duke and I are the only ones dancing and as I stare at him, I get lost in the wonder of what could be. Someone from behind me pushes me forward and I fall against Duke’s strong and broad chest as he catches me. We stare into each other’s eyes for a brief moment before he breaks the contact and helps me stand on my own.

“You alright?”

I laugh nervously, “Yea sorry. Just crowded, that’s all.”

The song ends and the crowd begins to clear leaving only a few stragglers. Duke looks at his watch. “It’s getting late. We should get going.”

“Ok. I have to use the restroom first.”

After I use the restroom, Duke finds Melanie among the crowd and we say our goodbyes. Taylor tells me he will call soon and he hugs me and kisses me on the cheek. As we pull up to my driveway, Melanie asks, “So, was it a night to remember?” I smile and catch Duke looking at me through the rearview mirror, “Yes, yes it was.”

About Madison Street

Madison Street was born in New York City and was raised in the Bronx, where she resided until she was 17 years old. After 9/11, Madison joined the United States Navy to serve her country.

During the deployments, Madison constantly wrote short stories and she discovered her passion for writing. You will find Madison always on the computer, whether she’s on Facebook, designing websites, messing with Photoshop, or writing for her blog.

Besides writing, her second passion is music and dance. Even though she’s a terrible singer, she’ll still belt it out in the shower, especially if the song is her jam! She currently resides in Virginia with her husband of 8 years, 2 children, a dog, and a cat. She is so excited to start this amazing journey and is honored to be part of such a compassionate and loving community.

Contact Madison

Website Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Google +

Review Round Up: January ’16

Hello readers, this month we have fourteen great titles for you to check out; some from our more regular authors, such as Beverly Ovalle, Christina Phillips, Nina Mason and Katherine McIntyre, as well as fresh authors to us, in Lolita London, and Krissy V who we had the pleasure to meet at last years Second City Signing event!

Still in the mood for love after your Valentines Day? ❤ With plenty of erotic, contemporary and historical romance reads, there is also a nice blend of sci-fi, fantasy and paranormal romance in our review recap this month. Plus, time to catch up on the last of our festive/wintry reads of the season which would be suitable to read as the cold weather lingers just for the next few weeks, or could urge you to purchase those festive reads well in advance for next Christmas! Author, Deborah Melanie features with a double festive review with her short stories Winter’s Spirit and The Good Girl; whether you’re into sweet romance, or hot, erotic you’ll have the choice of sweet or spicy 😉

Whatever your mood, we hope you find something to whet your appetite!

Happy reading,

Caroline & Tina 🙂 x

 

Stealing HopeStealing Hope: A Dragon’s Fated Heart by Beverly Ovalle, sci-fi fantasy, post apocalyptic paranormal erotica (reviewed by Tina)

Blurb: Amazon Bestseller in Erotica Paranormal AND Erotica Science Fiction

The apocalypse has come and gone.
Those who survived learned to adapt.
Dragons awaken to once again reign over the skies.

Upon eruption of a volcano, Ari awakens to a changed world, and a knowing that his dragon’s mate is near. He saves her twice—once as a dragon, and again as a man—and wins her confidence.

Hope cried out, moaning, “just change me with pleasure?”

Hope is restless and unfulfilled until she meets Ari, the man of her fantasies. The sensual tension between them heightens with every touch. When their passion explodes, Hope gets pulled into the dragon’s mating ritual…and into a world of erotic sensation she never dreamed existed but now cannot live without. The dragon binds his mate to him with a ritual that shows Hope her true nature in this humorous erotic romance.

East to WestEast to West by Lolita London, erotic historical western romance (reviewed by Tina)

Blurb: A letter in the mail, a hurried kiss goodbye, and a long train ride to her new life marks the end of Mary’s childhood.

When Mary Gray is informed she’s been selected to be a mail order bride, she’s reluctant to say the least – and not just because she has to leave her old life behind to marry a man she’s never met.

What she finds – or rather, what she doesn’t find – when she gets off the train surprises her. Her husband is nowhere to be found, and she’s informed that she’ll be living by herself until her fiance is finished overseeing a harvest.

To pass the time, she gets a job as a local schoolteacher… but a dangerous flirtation with her eldest student, Tom, threatens to end her marriage before it begins.

What she doesn’t know is Tom isn’t the man he seems to be… and she’ll find out just how little she knows about the man she’s marrying when they finally meet face to face.

This book contains explicit sex scenes and is for mature readers only.

StormyKnightDark and Stormy Knight (The Knights of Avalon #2) by Nina Mason, paranormal urban erotic romance (reviewed by Tina)

Blurb: She’ll risk everything for their love—even her life.

Aspiring screenwriter Gwyn Morland is ready for her big break. That means securing the film rights to elusive author Lady Ruthven’s acclaimed novel—which means traveling to Scotland. It’s a trip timid Gwyn isn’t prepared for, and her fears seem justified when her tour bus careens over a cliff outside of Castle Glenarvon. But the plot thickens when Gwyn is rescued from the brink of death by a handsome and mysterious stranger…

Leith MacQuill is not only the writer behind Lady Ruthven’s novel, but a shape-shifting faery knight bearing a tragic curse: the woman he gives his heart to will die. Saving Gwyn proves to be a dangerous choice when he finds himself falling for her the longer she stays in the castle. Not even his usual BDSM role-playing games are enough to thwart the intense desire they feel for each other. But to stay together, Gwyn and Leith must embark on a dangerous mission into Avalon, the realm of the faeries. Will their love be strong enough to conquer the curse? Or will Gwyn’s new life be stolen from her before it’s even begun?

MCTo Win Her Trust (Players #2) by Mackenzie Crowne, contemporary romance (reviewed by Tina)

Blurb: Can she trust this player with her heart?

Ever since experiencing a childhood trauma, reclusive artist CC Calhoun has suffered from panic attacks. But when a fateful kiss from handsome wide receiver, Kevin “Tuck” Tucker, is enough to stop one of those episodes cold, she wonders if guarding her heart has been the right choice. Will going on a test date with Tuck open her to trusting someone for the first time in years? Or will she wind up being just another notch in the football player’s bedpost?

Tuck has a reputation for charming women into bed, but after his kiss with CC, he’s left aching for more. When he proposes a second date, his attraction to the sexy blonde looks like the makings of true love—something he’s never quite believed in—until now. But when Tuck discovers CC’s childhood secrets, will the pro athlete be tough enough to stay by her side—or will he betray her hard-earned trust?

HFSHunting for Spring by Katherine McIntyre, paranormal urban fantasy romance (reviewed by Tina)

Blurb: Hunters are a lonely breed, and Conor’s no exception, until the day he meets Brenna. Even though she slinks in unannounced and kills the wight he was hunting down, the girl’s a mystery and he can’t get that blinding smile or those gorgeous curves off his mind. Since they’re both after the same caster who’s unleashing these monsters, he suggests teaming up, and despite her initial reluctance, the hungry way she scans him down promises something powerful.

However, her secrets have repercussions, and faster than Conor can lift his Glock, he’s drawn into the web of kidnappings and Unseelie mischief, all concealing the machinations of a darker foe—one that plans to bring Philly to ruin.

SatedSated by Lucy Felthouse, paranormal erotic romance (reviewed by Tina)

Blurb: A human, a vampire and a werewolf walked into a bar. Sexy is what happens next.

Since getting together with her vampire boyfriend, Ace, Aneesa is enjoying a sex life she could never have with a human. Ace has skill, strength, stamina…and is massively adventurous. Aneesa is checking things off her sexual bucket list at a rate of knots. However, she hasn’t even come close to experiencing the ultimate item on her list. So when Ace beats her to it, proposing a threesome with his werewolf friend, Barton, Aneesa’s definitely up for it.

Barton is attractive, smart and sexy—almost too good to be true, in fact. Aneesa decides not to jump straight into things, but makes sure it’s what she truly wants. However, it turns out Barton’s not so easily dissuaded.

Will Aneesa get the ultimate erotic experience she’s desired for so long? Will she be truly sated, or is the plan doomed to failure?

CupcakeEbookCover04-Final-200x300A Cupcake Christmas (Touchstone #5) (short story) by Beth Barany, festive holiday romance adventure(reviewed by Tina)

Blurb: What if you risked losing your baking legacy by cooking up a love truly special? Florian MacMillian needs a final job to complete his baking resume—preferably a job where he’s unlikely to blow things up with his unruly magic—before returning to the North Pole and taking his rightful place as Master Baker to all the elves. Kate Delore desperately needs help in her fast-growing cupcake business. Florian is a perfect fit, so she brings him on as baker. For a short time, Florian is happily up to his elbows in batter, and Kate’s business is booming. But when things heat up between them, Florian wonders if he should risk his legacy to cook up something truly special.

properlyornotatall_800Properly or Not At All (short story) by Lucy Felthouse, erotic romance (reviewed by Tina)

Blurb: How will a husband and wife cope when they’re told one of their favourite kinky pastimes is temporarily off the menu?

Tristan and Jayme are not only devoted husband and wife, they are also Dominant and submissive, with a particular penchant for spanking. They’ve been playing delicious kinky games for the fifteen years they’ve been together and couldn’t be happier. However, when Tristan develops a health issue that means he can’t redden his wife’s backside for a while, it puts both of them under a lot of strain. It’s a big part of their sex life and one they’ll miss badly.

They try to find a way around their unfortunate predicament, but it’s not easy. In the end, Tristan declares that he will either spank Jayme’s bottom properly, or not at all.

The prospect of no spanking at all dismays Jayme, but she has no other choice. Or does she? Continuing to put her mind toward the issue, she indulges in some solo experimentation, with mixed results.

But how will Tristan feel when he finds out his wife has gone behind his back?

Reader Advisory: This book contains anal sex and a scene of female ejaculation. 

Publisher’s Note: This book was previously released as part of the Over the Knee anthology by Totally Bound Publishing. 

MonsterDefaced: A Dark Romance Novel (The Monster Trilogy #1) by Marissa Farrar, dark romance suspense (reviewed by Tina)

Blurb: Monster
Hidden away from society by his criminal father, there lives a man who has never entered the outside world. Now, having taken over his father’s business, he has all the money and power he could dream of, yet still he refuses to let himself be viewed by the rest of society.

Lily
Traumatised by an event in her past, Lily Drayton has a phobia of being touched. Though she helps people externally with her skills as a laser therapist, she refuses to let anyone in, emotionally or physically. When Lily is kidnapped on the way home from work one evening, she discovers she’s not the only person who keeps themselves cut off from the rest of the world.

Defaced
A man owns her now—a man both dangerous and enigmatic. Drawn by his dual beauty and hidden pain, he awakens something inside her, something she believed was long dead. Brought to a room without windows, she’s given an impossible task: to make her owner acceptable to the outside world.

Can altering his face change who he is as a man, or is he truly a monster, both inside and out?

A Taste of ChristmasA Taste of Christmas [Dublin Style] by Krissy V, festive holiday contemporary romance, chick-lit (reviewed by Caroline)

Blurb: My name is Nollaig, it’s the Irish word for Christmas. I hate my name. My parents loved Christmas and that’s why they gave me such a festive name, together with the fact that I was born on Christmas Day.

However, my parents are no longer with us after dying in a car accident on Christmas Eve, five years ago.

Now I hate Christmas all together.

I always hated the fact that everyone got presents on my birthday. Now my parents are gone and ever since then I just don’t feel like celebrating Christmas. Everything about this holiday gives me sad memories.

I need a miracle to happen over the Christmas holiday to make me change my mind about Christmas.

Who knew that a quick shopping trip would provide me with the miracle that I so desperately needed?

Winter's SpiritWinter’s Spirit (short story) by Deborah Melanie, contemporary festive holiday romance, paranormal, fantasy, chick-lit (reviewed by Caroline)

Blurb: Winter McAndrew is on the brink of divorcing her philandering husband, Philip, when he dies in a car crash. One year later and with unfinished business; Philip is still earth bound and interfering in his wife’s love life. Trying to make amends isn’t always easy when you’re dead. Not only has Winter fallen for her old crush, Jack Tobin, but he also happens to be Philip’s cousin. With more complications than a woman needs at Christmas, Winter tries to find peace at her holiday home in The Lake District. However, when she finds herself snowed in with Jack; ghosts, old and new cause quite a stir. Will Winter get her man, or will ghostly Philip put an end to all her festive fantasies?

The Good GirlThe Good Girl (short story) by Deborah Melanie, contemporary festive holiday erotic fantasy (reviewed by Caroline)

Blurb: With the festive season almost upon her, plus size model, Sarah, wonders if being naughty not nice, will get her everything her heart and body desires. With two gorgeous neighbours and a unique employment opportunity, could this be the year when Sarah’s naughty Christmas wishes are finally granted?

The book contains adult themes and menage situations.

Taken by the BillionaireTaken by the Billionaire (A Collection of Stepbrother romance novellas) by Christina Phillips, Mel Teshco and Cathleen Ross, contemporary erotic romance (reviewed by Tina)

Novella Blurbs:

He’s forbidden…and he’s her every wicked fantasy

Ravished by the Billionaire by Christina Phillips

Dexter Jericho has it all – wealth, good looks and women falling at his feet. The last thing he wants is his little stepsister working in his London casino – until he meets her again. Because now Gabriella is all grown up and sexy as hell, and he can’t keep his hands off her. There’s only one problem – she might be a corporate spy, in which case he’ll keep her close and seduce her secrets from her.

Gabi’s had a crush on her stepbrother for as long as she can remember, and he’s finally noticed her. His scorching kisses and talented tongue make her forget this is a forbidden romance. Until she discovers the truth for his sudden interest and realizes his dirty little secret – is her.

Punished by the Billionaire by Mel Teshco

Isabella wants no part of the Jericho fortune, not if it means being a puppet to her stepfather, Harrison Jericho. Instead she turns to her one skill and passion and becomes a professional gambler. Except no money in the world is enough to make her forget her eldest stepbrother, Max Jericho, or the scorching kiss they shared at a party.

Max has been keeping tabs on his beautiful stepsister, Isabella. He’s been half in love with her for years, and no amount of hard labor and bedding other women makes him forget her. But his feelings won’t mean a thing if she’s guilty of dragging the Jericho name through the mud. He needs to get her alone to uncover the truth. And now that he’s CEO of his very own casino, Bella is drawn to him like a moth to flame.

Except losing a bet to Max and staying in his penthouse for a week just might be Isabella’s biggest gamble yet. Especially when she discovers how far he’s willing to go to clear the Jericho name.

Trapped by the Billionaire by Cathleen Ross

Tom Jericho has never got over the naked body slide his sixteen year old stepsister Christabelle Evernight performed on him when he was twenty-one. Born with a sense of honor, he wouldn’t take her virginity then but he’s certainly interested in having her now. After all, what’s a little dirty fun between step siblings and Christabelle has been a very bad girl.

There’s nothing more humiliating than being knocked back by the hottest, sexiest stepbrother Chrissy has ever seen, so she’s not going to Australia to work under him, except her stepfather leaves her no choice.

Tom Jericho knows her secret and he’s going to make her pay, but Chrissy has grown up now and she happens to enjoy Tom’s brand of punishment – and knows just how to pay him back.

**REVIEW** A Taste of Christmas [Dublin Style] by Krissy V

Although, a little late (or early) for Christmas, I was delighted to read A Taste of Christmas earlier this month. It was a little book I picked up from the Second City Signing from the author herself, and I am very happy that I did!

A Taste of ChristmasTitle: A Taste of Christmas [Dublin Style]

Author: Krissy V

Genre: Festive, holiday romance, contemporary, chick-lit

Date released: December 5th, 2014

Length: 169 pages

Blurb: My name is Nollaig, it’s the Irish word for Christmas. I hate my name. My parents loved Christmas and that’s why they gave me such a festive name, together with the fact that I was born on Christmas Day.

However, my parents are no longer with us after dying in a car accident on Christmas Eve, five years ago.

Now I hate Christmas all together.

I always hated the fact that everyone got presents on my birthday. Now my parents are gone and ever since then I just don’t feel like celebrating Christmas. Everything about this holiday gives me sad memories.

I need a miracle to happen over the Christmas holiday to make me change my mind about Christmas.

Who knew that a quick shopping trip would provide me with the miracle that I so desperately needed?

REVIEW ***** (5* rating)

A Taste of Christmas is the ideal festive romance story to read, especially during advent, whether you enjoy Christmas or not. It is a super, sweet romance between characters Nollaig and Tully that takes you through most of December from the moment that they meet up in mid-December until New Year’s Eve.

The contrasting attitudes that Nollaig and Tully have towards the festive period make for a very interesting read, and enables readers to empathise with at least one of the main characters, creating a connection with the reader immediately. Nollaig cannot get away from Christmas no matter how much she tries. Her name is the Irish word for Christmas, and her birthday falls on Christmas day, meaning that one special day of the year meant just for her is actually shared with everybody she knows, taking the edge off her day! To top it all off she lost her parents on Christmas Eve. So, yes, Christmas is and always will be grim for Nollaig.

But, her life takes a turn when one day when out shopping she stumbles into musician, Tully, in a most embarrassing way. Tully is a very warm, kind and caring character who absolutely loves the festivities. And, over the course of the story it becomes clear just how magical Christmas can be as he empathises with Nollaig, yet tries to show her just how beautiful it can be. Will Nollaig appreciate Tully’s efforts, or is it too much too soon?

I love how the author has made both of these characters patient with each other, and they both give each other a chance, rather than giving up. The conflict of the story is their opposing views, which is a little overwhelming at times for Nollaig; sometimes in an exciting way, and other times in an emotional way. This couple are just so cute for each other, the reader is constantly rooting for a nice outcome.

It is a lovely, warm story that is sure to warm up any cold winter. And so, if you’re looking for a winter read while the season is still upon us, or whether you want to make your Christmas list early for December 2016, A Taste of Christmas is perfect for you!

A Taste of Christmas by Krissy V is available at Amazon UK and Amazon US.

Reviewed by Caroline Barker

**Halloween Horror Review** Tales of Blood and Sulphur: Apocalypse Minor #1 by J.G. Clay

We had the pleasure to meet horror author J.G. Clay at the Second City Signing author event in July. Since then I have been eagerly awaiting to read his eleven Tales of Blood and Sulphur in time for our Halloween Horror review!

jgclayCover-TOBSTitle: Tales of Blood and Sulphur: Apocalypse Minor (The Tales of Blood and Sulphur Volume 1)

Author: J.G. Clay

Genre: Horror

Date released: July 20th, 2015

Published by: Forsaken

Length: 214 pages

Blurb: Eleven Tales steeped in Blood and reeking of Sulphur

There are cracks in the skin of Reality. Some are microscopic, others are as wide as a four-lane motorway. As the fault lines increase and widen, the door to our world shines like a beacon in the darkness, a warm and inviting sight to others beyond our understanding. When They cross over into our realm, The Tales begin……

A gambler taking one last desperate throw of the dice. A struggling writer making an unholy alliance. An eternal being fighting to stay alive in the financial capital of India. A man burdened with a terrible town secret. The Law Enforcers who must never cry. The End of Days live and direct from the rural heartland of England.

J.G. Clay takes you on a journey through the voids of Reality and into dark places where demons, mutants and inter-dimensional creatures taunt, taint and corrupt Humanity. Survival is not guaranteed, sanity is not assured and death lurks in every corner. These are the Tales of Blood and Sulphur: Apocalypse Minor; eleven twisted tales of terror and mayhem.

The blood is warm, the sulphur is burning, the tales will be told, the Apocalypse Minor is imminent!

jgclay Excerpt Promo one The Smiling Men

REVIEW **** (4* rating)

Full of twists and surprises, Tales of Blood and Sulphur is mind-blowing and your head will certainly spin as you endeavour to seek all of the answers you are looking for, and then find yourself lost in another tale. This is definitely a dark, horrific and gory read for the mature reader. With it’s grittiness and violence it certainly has it’s moments of being seemingly real, yet written with profound sci-fi fantasy creativity, thus making for a fantastic dark horror.

With a mystical suspect, Null, being interrogated in the epilogue it soon becomes clear that there is a rare, eerie wisdom about him that gives you the heebie-jeebies. His tales will terrorise you and drive you to insanity. Be warned!

Have you ever sneaked out for a ciggy, looked at a patch on the lawn suspiciously, and found it to have grown with no explanation? Or, maybe you have walked home one evening after a few drinks, cutting across the bleak, dark, desolate park and heard noises – a voice ‘help me’? Then again, maybe you’d prefer to have a pint with the devil, listening to The Clash on the jukebox, and being encouraged to join his dark side whilst in an almost trance-like state? Perhaps you’re trapped in an apartment, with little or no food, caged in by zombies, and you need to leave for a few minutes to get some supplies? Or find yourself in a Dr Who-like scenario with creepily smiling cyborgs, with automated voices set, out to control and intimidate those who go against the new regime. If you don’t conform you won’t want to wait to see what will become of you!

Tales is a disgustingly gory read, with scenes of saliva, mucous, blood and many more bodily fluids having an important role in the horrific action scenes. Brains are squished, bones are cracked and blood runs extremely freely. Heads are taken off, skin is burned by flame and acid-like saliva, organs are shredded. I could go on. For a most frightful read, you may wish to read at night with little light, and you’ll feel the full power of this chilly collection.

I really enjoyed that, aside from the individual eleven tales, there is this running undercurrent throughout all of them. This really weaves each tale together, making for a brilliant, compact all-round read. Tales is written very well with so much information to take in and various situations with alien lifeforms, cyborgs, zombies and more. It is a read that fans of this genre will love as I am sure that there will be so much more to realise about each story with every read. It is definitely a keeper for any mature bookshelf, and one to be read again and again.

Reviewed by Caroline Barker

Author Bio

JJ.G clay 2015.G. Clay is definitely a Man of Horror. There can be no doubt. Putting aside the reverence he has for the horror greats, such as King, Barker, Herbert, Carpenter, Romero and Argento, there is another fact that defines his claim for the title of the ‘Duke of Spook’. He was born on Halloween night. By a quirk fate, it was also a full moon that night. Co-incidence?

Here at Clay Towers, we don’t believe in coincidences.

The 41 year old hails from the Midlands in the United Kingdom, is married with one step child and two dogs that bear a strong resemblance to Ewoks. Beyond the page and the written word, he is music mad and can hold down a tune on a bass guitar pretty well. He is an avid reader and also has an enduring love of British sci-fi, from the pages of the ‘2000A.D’ comic to the televised wanderings of Gallifrey’s most famous physician. Clay is also a long-time fan of the mighty Birmingham City Football Club and endures a lot of flak from his friends for it.

Author Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jgclay1973

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JGClay1

jg clay Excerpt Promo two Pete the Neat

Available from:

AMAZON

Kindle US : http://amzn.to/1TX8Jhu

Paperback US: http://amzn.to/1CZpm7F

Kindle UK: http://amzn.to/1RYqLlM

Paperback UK: http://amzn.to/1KoFNKP

Nook (Barnes & Noble): http://bit.ly/1CUUYMd

And Apple iBooks

jg clay Excerpt Promo three Writers Friend

**REVIEW** True Blue (The Blue Crystal Trilogy #2) by Pat Spence

I had to read Book 2 in The Blue Crystal Trilogy, True Blue, after enjoying Blue Moon (book 1) so much! After book 1 being likened to the ‘Twilight’ saga, albeit without vamps and weres I have found both of these books intriguing to read. The relationship Bella has to Edward’s family in Twilight, is very similar to that of Emily and Theo in Blue Crystal! Young and mature fans will love this supernatural fantasy series! Blue Moon (book 1) is now FREE at Amazon.

True BlueTitle: True Blue (The Blue Crystal Trilogy #2)

Author: Pat Spence

Genre: YA paranormal romance, fantasy

Release date: May 29th, 2015

Length: 250 pages

Blurb: As the word ‘tomb’ came into my head and my predicament hit home, I lost control and hammered on the lid, screaming ‘Help, get me out of here’ over and over, until my throat hurt…

In just two weeks, Emily must undergo the blue crystal initiation ceremony or face death from the secret order that protects it. But is she ready to spend eternity with the beautiful and irresistible Theo de Lucis, or can best friend, Seth, offer an alternative? And can she stay alive long enough to make the decision?

As Emily considers her future, she becomes an unwitting pawn in a dangerous game of life and death, caught up in a supernatural world of ancient enemies, old grievances and dark forces. Tested to the limit, she must draw deep to ensure her survival.

Heart-rending and horrifying, True Blue is the second book in the ‘Blue Crystal’ trilogy, with a colourful cast of characters, a fast-moving plot and surprises at every turn. Keep turning the pages. You have to know what happens next….

An old enemy of the de Lucis family waits in the shadows, desperate for the crystal and preparing to exact a terrible price…

REVIEW

The fantastic story of the Blue Crystal continues with True Blue, book 2. This is another delightful read as we follow Emily’s adventure with Theo. As she already knows too much about the crystal she must undergo an initiation ceremony and become an immortal herself, otherwise she could face death by those who protect it to ensure that it doesn’t fall into the wrong hands!

The story is split into three parts: teenage life, disappearance and rescue. The first section has a lighter, relaxing feel as it concentrates on Emily’s everyday life with her mother and her school friends, Seth and Tash. Many readers will love Seth’s sense of humour as we are subjected to his off-the-cuff remarks. He simply oozes fun! Tash also indirectly adds to this; she is so obsessed with how she looks that she goes to the extent of having botox and collagen, which ultimately ends with her face becoming expressionless! Although it does have it’s use at times! We are also introduced to Emily’s mother’s new fellow, Juke, who proves to be a fascinating character as the story moves on.

Emily’s initiation is becoming increasingly closer, and although her deepest desire is to be with Theo forever, she does have doubts about leaving normal life behind. Does she really want a deep, intense relationship with the love of her life, when sometimes she can barely breathe? Or, should she remain a mortal where she can be more relaxed and jovial with her family and friends? Who knows, maybe her and Seth could make a go of it? There are feelings there on both sides, albeit more on Seth’s!

With a prom to look forward to Emily can pretty much take her pick on who to go with. Although this does not register to Theo, who naturally expected to be the one to take her. There is a touching moment when Viyesha explains lovingly to him how such a huge change – the initiation – will affect Emily. She will be saying goodbye to the life she is used to in many ways; she won’t be growing old with her family and friends. This is Emily’s last chance to do something normal.

With the prom over abruptly, the story then begins to get darker, and not all in the de Lucis’ household can be trusted! Emily’s life is in imminent danger, and her best friend, Tash, has also got caught up in the turn of events as they both get kidnapped!

From hereon in there is plenty of action, suspense, with a dark, almost eerie atmosphere. The ‘feeders’ are certainly very gruesome and will make you shudder and cringe. The Dark One and his minions find ways to take the crystal, and one way is to take Emily. He longs to turn into his human form once again, and his only chance is to get hold of the crystal. In order to do this, he summons Mr. Nelson to carry out his evil tasks.

“… the time has come for action. I need the crystal. I have waited too long in the shadows, without form or function, and Viyesha has enjoyed the wealth and power that was rightfully mine for too long. Bring me the girl. The family cannot stand back and let her endure the tortures of the void. Once I have her, I will exploit their weakness.”

Although Mr. Nelson hears the Dark One, he doesn’t see him. Instead, it is the feeders that are present. The creepy, slimy, dark slug-like masses.

“… He couldn’t see the owner of the hissing, reptilian voice, but he could see what the chamber contained. Surrounding him on all sides and suspended high up in the vaults, he saw row upon row of strange black creatures, dark and malevolent, their glittering eyes watching all around him, he was filled with a loathing and dread so powerful he thought his head would explode.”

And, then there’s the brilliance of the shapeshifters, who sometimes make you wonder exactly whose side they’re on, which makes for great tense and fearful moments that are exhilarating. Not only that, but love also blossoms in unexpected places between other characters. I wonder where that will lead to!

Two new fascinating characters are introduced in True Blue in Juke and Bellynda La Drach! Australian Juke is Emily’s mothers new partner. He showed up in the village, Hartswell-on-the-Hill, as a hippy type, with a guitar. Emily is glad to see her mum happy, especially since the death of her Grandad, even though at times she knows that something doesn’t sit quite right with him. This provides the reader with curiosity, and I for one couldn’t wait to discover more about him! The de Lucis family were sent Bellynda La Drach after they expressed concerns of the blue crystal’s safety. She is present to keep the crystal and the family safe from harm. However, she is not very heart-warming, but rather cold and flippant. She will leave you wondering just whose side she is on. But one of the most interesting sides of her character is that she is a shapeshifter, and she is brilliant during the action and fight scenes, regardless who side she’s on!

Yes, True Blue is an excitingly, nice paced story, as was book 1. I can’t wait to read more about the characters and what becomes of them in Book 3.

A copy of True Blue was provided by the author for the purpose of a fair and honest review.

True Blue is available at Amazon UK and Amazon US.

Reviewed by Caroline Barker

Blue MoonYou can also check out my review on the first book of the trilogy, Blue Moon.

Blue Moon blurb: “Forget vampires,” he laughed dismissively.

“Who wants to drink blood for eternity? What we have discovered is far more seductive and a great deal more dangerous…”

When 17-year old Emily Morgan meets beautiful but strange Theo de Lucis, there is an immediate attraction between them. But what is his secret? What ancient link ties him to Emily? And what is the significance of the Blue Moon Ball?

As Emily is drawn irrevocably into the glamorous and mysterious world of the de Lucis family, so she is forced to change every perception she has ever had about life, love, aging and death. The truth is terrifying and the consequences unthinkable…

A supernatural horror story, based on society’s obsession with aging and the desire for eternal youth, Blue Moon is the first book in the ‘Blue Crystal’ trilogy…

“For all ‘Twilight’ fans who want a change from vampires, this is the book for you.”

Buy links for Blue Moon, now FREE on Amazon:- AMAZON UK and AMAZON US

CAKETina and myself had the absolute pleasure of meeting Pat Spence at the Second City Signing in July. We had a lovely chat about the Blue Crystal books, and her contemporary romance, Abigail’s Affair. She was accompanied by her assistant, Tracie Smith-Band, who is also very talented in making jewellery and beautiful bookmarks, which blended in with the Blue Crystal books perfectly. Plus, there was also a cake of Blue Moon made by a fan, which was way too delicious to eat!

Pat Spence Tracie Smith-Band twcb

Review Round-up July ’15

Hello readers, we hope that you are enjoying the summer holidays! We have had an amazing month, most notably our attendance at the Second City Signing, which was our first. Here we met some amazing authors, some known to us and some new. You’ll be hearing more of them over the coming months, and if you are a fan of romance and/or erotic romance you will certainly be in for a treat! You can read our “special report” on the signing, complete with plenty of pics!

We were also preparing for Helena Fairfax‘s latest release, Palace of Deception. Not only have we reviewed her contemporary romantic suspense/mystery novella, but she has also given us a great deal of her time in helping produce a fantastic interview, whereby she speaks of her work, her blog, her awards and the membership of The Romantic Novelist Association. You can read all about her tips and suggestions to help promote your work too on her blog.

Along with our children’s end of year activities at school, and arranging plans for the holidays it has left us with a quieter month than usual – especially on my part. However, we still have nine fantastic reviews for you (two of which are double reviews – books 1 & 2 of a series) with YA futuristic/time travel in Future Girls by Catharine Bramkamp, and V.L. Brock‘s Dark Evoke, dark romantic suspense/psychological thriller series. As always, please click on the titles and authors to view our complete review post!

Happy reading! And happy holidays!

Caroline & Tina ❤

Alison MerrittHer Heart’s Surrender by Allison Merritt, historical romance, reviewed by Tina

Blurb: After sneaking out with her brother, Eoghann, one night, Ealasaid discovers Viking ships sailing up the river to sack their home in Northumbria. They attempt to warn their father, but it’s too late and the Vikings slaughter or enslave all the inhabitants of Suibhne. In attempt to save her family, Ealasaid stabs a young Viking warrior, but her father is killed, her family scattered, and she’s taken to Solstad Hall where she serves as a thrall for the Viking king. Years later, the king’s son, Hella, ventures on many raids and to trading sites across Europe, but his desire is to set up a farm in Solstad with Ealasaid as the thrall in charge of his household. He tells her of his plan and they expression their passion for one another. When Hella petitions the king for her freedom, but is turned down and order to the Frankish lands in retaliation for raids on the Viking coastal villages. Ealasaid, aware the king would never free her, tells him that he should look for a brighter future across the sea, away from his father and resigns herself to be his slave for the remainder of her life.Called home to watch his father die, Hella is stunned when his father’s final command is that Hella must marry or the throne will go to his adopted brother. Furious with his father’s orders and worried about being left without lands or money, Hella looks to the thrall who’s always captured his attention—Ealasaid. Ealasaid harbors a secret—the single afternoon she spent in Hella’s arms resulted in a son, her treasure, her reason for living.

Sandra ScwabEagle’s Honor: Banished by Sandra Schwab, erotic historical romance, reviewed by Tina

Blurb: A proud warrior.
A brave woman.
A forbidden love that is tested by the intrigues of ancient Rome and the hostilities at the northernmost edge of the empire.Centurion Marcus Florius Corvus has a splendid career in the legions ahead of him. Yet a visit to Rome and a chance encounter with an old friend change his whole life: He falls in love with one of his friend’s pleasure slaves and becomes entrapped in an evil scheme designed to destroy him. And yet—he cannot help risking everything for Lia, the woman he has given his heart to, even if it means he will be banished to one of the most dangerous places in the Roman Empire: the northern frontier of Britannia.

Seeking Nirvana & Eluding Nirvana (Dark Evoke #1 & #2) by V. L. Brock, dark romantic suspense/psychological thriller, reviewed by Tina

Seeking NirvanaSeeking Nirvana Blurb: They say that old habits die hard, and twenty-seven year old, Kady Jenson, is about to discover how true that statement actually is.

Waking up in a hospital room with a complete stranger at her bedside, should have caused panic and confusion, but for a reason unknown to her, Kady finds herself drawn, and calmed by the presence of the rugged, devastatingly handsome man with the pleasant Irish brogue. It’s when she discovers that she has just woken from a four day coma, with a three year void in her memory, which spawns confusion and panic.

Kady soon comes to realize that things change with time, and not only appearances.

Not only is the sexual chemistry she once shared with her long-term boyfriend, now a long-ago memory, but Kady also begins to unconsciously fall back into unremembered habits, and with each day, the increasing sense of foreboding, becomes increasingly harder to ignore.

Left on her own when her boyfriend goes on a business trip, Kady seeks help from the Irish stranger as they go on a quest together, in a race against time, to piece the puzzle together.

Eluding NirvanaEluding Nirvana Blurb: Three years lost; a body marred and a mission complete. Waking after a four day coma, Kady Jenson felt her life was crashing down around her. Three years of her memories were missing, and the compelling man at her side was not her years-long partner, but a stranger – a stranger who promised to help her recover what she had lost.

But how did Kady come to such a place?

What dark, mysterious events stole her past and threatened her future?

How did her lover become a stranger, and a stranger become so terribly important?

What happened to turn Kady’s orderly life into a terrifying nightmare which would leave her permanently marked, body and soul?

**AUTHORS NOTE**

Eluding Nirvana is the second instalment of The Dark Evoke Series, and is therefore not intended as a standalone novel.

Stolen petalsStolen Petals (novelette) by Katherine McIntyre, steampunk romance, reviewed by Tina

Blurb: One man has swiped bounties from Viola, the Brass Violet, for years. Longstanding rivals, they’ve only had brief encounters, and if she had a choice, she’d avoid him entirely. When he saunters into her bar with an offer to work together on a job, the proper response would be to shoot him down and send him back to Shantytown. However, curiosity’s a wicked beast, and Viola needs to know why, after so many years of stealing her marks, he’d approach her now. The man is insufferable, annoyingly cavalier, and tends to stir up memories she’d rather forget–but she needs assistance on this job and he’s offering aid and blueprints which could cut their work in half.

Given the intense way he looks at her though, working together isn’t all he has in mind. Van Clef is known for his persistence and, with his charm, he wins women over effortlessly. Viola’s not so easy though–she’s wise to his tricks. But if he wants to play the game, she will gladly rise to the challenge. By the end of this bounty, she’ll be the one leaving him in the dust.

Samantha-Holt_Knight_ConKnight’s Captive by Samantha Holt, historical romance, reviewed by Tina

Blurb: Queen Elizabeth sits on England’s throne. A once Catholic country is now ruled by a Protestant queen. In a time of fear, turmoil and bold deeds, many heroes are seldom written into history…

After aiding in the capture of the flagship Rosario and helping to defeat the Spanish Armada, Sir Henry Bainbridge is set to make his mark on the world and strengthen his position as a man of authority. Now in charge of the Spanish prisoners, Henry must negotiate their return to Spain and manage the care of his people.

However, when he comes across a woman amongst the survivors, his future plans are put on hold. The exotic beauty draws him in and his honour will not let him doing anything other than protect her. Henry takes her into his home and places her under house arrest. He can only hope his principles are enough to protect her from his desires…

In a time when small differences spark fear into the heart of many, Antonia finds herself drawn into a battle between a zealous priest, a discontented population and the most honourable man she’s ever met. Nothing can ever come of their attraction, not while he’s holding her father prisoner and not when so many differences divide them.

Or can it?

TorqueTorque (The Redline Series #2) by Skye Callahan, dark erotic romance, reviewed by Tina

Blurb: In the dark underworld of Ashville, crime, deceit, and blackmail reign supreme. Everyone wants that little piece of leverage—that one small key to getting ahead.

Aubrey would be happy—and lucky—to simply make it out alive. After falling in debt to one of the city’s most dangerous men, she found herself caught in a dispute between two brothers who will do anything to see each other suffer. Aubrey knows she’s only a pawn in their game and her only hope is to find some key of her own—a way to guarantee her own safety and the safety of her family.

Colt has a long and sordid past with the criminal element. He knows how the game is played and has found himself on all sides more times than he cares to remember. Aubrey is his newest escape route, but their tentative alliance is doomed to crumble if Colt can’t find a way to fulfill his end of the bargain with Devlin.

How will Colt and Aubrey handle Devlin’s newest threat?

Bloodlust deniedBloodlust Denied by Christina Phillips, erotic historical paranormal romance, reviewed by Tina

Blurb: Tired of the thin-blooded aristocrats in 1815 London, Alexius yearns for better sport. He is drawn to a dark-haired seductress who shows no fear and refuses to obey his commands. Entranced by such novelty, he denies his bloodlust and decides to keep her to warm his bed.

Immortal vampire hunter Morana has never mistaken her prey before, but the dark stranger mesmerizes her, enticing her to forget everything but the dangerous pleasure she finds in his arms.

Neither one can deny the pull of the other, but there is something beyond the lust—a recognition neither can put a name to. The past and present collide and unless they discover the truth behind the lies, Death will triumph once more.

palace of deceptionPalace of Deception (novella) by Helena Fairfax, contemporary romantic suspense/mystery, reviewed by Caroline

Blurb: A sinister housekeeper, a silent bodyguard, and a missing princess – mystery and intrigue in this gripping romantic suspense.

Lizzie Smith is contacted by her old drama teacher over the summer and offered the acting job of her life. Princess Charlotte of Montverrier has disappeared on the eve of her Investiture…and Lizzie must take her place.

But in the run up to the ceremony, all is not what it seems in the Palace of Montverrier. Why does the housekeeper insist Lizzie keep to her suite of rooms? What danger lies outside the palace walls? As Lizzie learns her role, her only confidant is Léon, her quiet bodyguard…but what secrets is he keeping from her?

Mystery and suspense against the backdrop of a beautiful Mediterranean city.

Future Girls & Future Gold (Future Girls #1 & #2) by Catharine Bramkamp, YA sci-fi fantasy, reviewed by Caroline

Future Girls Book One of the The Future Girls SeriesFuture Girls Blurb: On October 10, 2145, eighteen-year-old Charity Northquest’s whole future is ahead of her–and the future sucks.

On October 11, 2145, she unexpectedly has a chance to fix it. When her best friend is reported killed, but then re-appears the next day as an old woman, everything Charity has been taught is called into question. Even if she does not believe in time travel, she has little choice. So the ill-prepared Charity travels back to the mysterious and captivating 21st century where her single purpose of changing the future fades with the increasingly more urgent question of whether she can survive the past.

Future Gold (Book Two of the The Future Girls Series)Future Gold Blurb: What part of the past would you change?

Jordan didn’t want to travel back in time. She thought the members of the Time Cult were, frankly, a little whacked. But as the daughter of a daughter of a daughter, she had little choice but to prepare, take part, be knowledgeable and be ready to travel back in time. But nothing could prepare her for what happened. Or when.

*Promo* Tales of Blood and Sulphur: Apocalypse Minor by J.G. Clay

Since our exciting experience at the Second City Signing we have been in touch with many of the authors in order to introduce our readers to their work. Our first promo post is for horror author J.G. Clay’s eleven Tales of Blood and Sulphur.

jgclayCover-TOBSTitle: Tales of Blood and Sulphur: Apocalypse Minor (The Tales of Blood and Sulphur Volume 1)

Author: J.G. Clay

Genre: Horror

Date released: July 20th, 2015

Published by: Forsaken

Length: 214 pages

Blurb: Eleven Tales steeped in Blood and reeking of Sulphur

There are cracks in the skin of Reality. Some are microscopic, others are as wide as a four-lane motorway. As the fault lines increase and widen, the door to our world shines like a beacon in the darkness, a warm and inviting sight to others beyond our understanding. When They cross over into our realm, The Tales begin……

A gambler taking one last desperate throw of the dice. A struggling writer making an unholy alliance. An eternal being fighting to stay alive in the financial capital of India. A man burdened with a terrible town secret. The Law Enforcers who must never cry. The End of Days live and direct from the rural heartland of England.

J.G. Clay takes you on a journey through the voids of Reality and into dark places where demons, mutants and inter-dimensional creatures taunt, taint and corrupt Humanity. Survival is not guaranteed, sanity is not assured and death lurks in every corner. These are the Tales of Blood and Sulphur: Apocalypse Minor; eleven twisted tales of terror and mayhem.

The blood is warm, the sulphur is burning, the tales will be told, the Apocalypse Minor is imminent!

jgclay Excerpt Promo one The Smiling Men

Author Bio

JJ.G clay 2015.G. Clay is definitely a Man of Horror. There can be no doubt. Putting aside the reverence he has for the horror greats, such as King, Barker, Herbert, Carpenter, Romero and Argento, there is another fact that defines his claim for the title of the ‘Duke of Spook’. He was born on Halloween night. By a quirk fate, it was also a full moon that night. Co-incidence?

Here at Clay Towers, we don’t believe in coincidences.

The 41 year old hails from the Midlands in the United Kingdom, is married with one step child and two dogs that bear a strong resemblance to Ewoks. Beyond the page and the written word, he is music mad and can hold down a tune on a bass guitar pretty well. He is an avid reader and also has an enduring love of British sci-fi, from the pages of the ‘2000A.D’ comic to the televised wanderings of Gallifrey’s most famous physician. Clay is also a long-time fan of the mighty Birmingham City Football Club and endures a lot of flak from his friends for it.

Author Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jgclay1973

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JGClay1

jg clay Excerpt Promo two Pete the Neat

Available from:

AMAZON

Kindle US : http://amzn.to/1TX8Jhu

Paperback US: http://amzn.to/1CZpm7F

Kindle UK: http://amzn.to/1RYqLlM

Paperback UK: http://amzn.to/1KoFNKP

Nook (Barnes & Noble): http://bit.ly/1CUUYMd

And Apple iBooks

jg clay Excerpt Promo three Writers Friend