**REVIEW** – Boarded, by Annie Nicholas

#scifi #romance #aliens

A love found in the depths of space…

I absolutely LOVED this novella from Annie Nicholas. Having really enjoyed the author’s vampire romance BAIT (The Angler book 1) , which incidentally is currently FREE on Amazon, I downloaded Boarded, as I was in the mood for a bit of alien lovin’. What can be better on a cold, damp and grey day in the UK than to escape to the stars? Scroll down to read the blurb and my review. Tina ❤

Book Blurb

boardedAssigned as an interpreter to a mysterious alien race, Liaison Sadie Beckit crosses multiple star systems to the remote Cyngi home world on an old space freighter. Knowledge is essential when dealing with aliens. A misspoken word or a careless gesture could lead to wars so liaisons are necessary to keep the peace, but Sadie is kept in the dark about her new employer. This mysterious species has chosen to withhold most of their culture and language information.

All she’s told is to accompany Ambassdor Nual back to Central Station. Sounds easy enough, but the lawless void of space holds many dangers.

My Review

Otherwordly Sci-Fi Romance

**** Four Stars

I just loved how this read transported me into another place, across the stars to realms created by the author’s imagination. This novella is a sexy, fast-paced read and has some real nail-biting moments!

Sadie, the heroine takes her job as a Liaison very seriously and is adept at maintaining a professional attitude. That is until she encounters the sexy Ambassador Nual from the mysterious race of Cyngi. Little is known about the race and Sadie is left well and truly in the dark when Nual not only refuses to share essential cultural information on his race and their customs, which Sadie requires to carry out her job and protect him, but appears to make his attraction to her clear from the start…..

I adored how this normally cool and collected female is taken off guard by the attraction she feels for Nual and his actions. Sadie is not sure whether his highly flirtatious and attentive acts are how his race treats all females or whether his attraction is reserved for  alone. This made for a number of fun, sexy  and sensual scenes and I enjoyed the verbal sparing between them.

Nual is a great romantic lead and I loved how he courts Sadie and how he is so protective of her, even though she can more than hold her own when danger strikes. The galaxy is a dangerous place and the couple and the other occupants of the space craft have to fight for their survival before the story reaches its denouement. Annie Nicholas does a great job of describing the different species featured in the read and how they interact.

A super novella, recommended for fans of sci-fi romance and romance fans in general.

Reviewed by Tina Williams

Purchase Links

Amazon UK  Amazon US

Connect with the Author

http://annienicholas.webs.com/

https://www.facebook.com/authorannienicholas/

https://twitter.com/annienicholas

 

**REVIEW** ~ Discovered (Forsaken Blood Series, book 1), by Em Taylor

Sci-Fi Romance

Adult/18+ read

Contains fangtastic toe-curling lovemaking scenes!

I have been eagerly awaiting Discovered from the pen of Em Taylor. I am already a fan of the author’s Regency romances and I couldn’t wait to read her spin on the sexy space Vampyr Lachlan! I am partial to sci-fi romances and also vampire  heroes and this novel combines both in a mouth-watering combination which contains a drop dead gorgeous world-weary alien Vampyr and a sassy human heroine. Scroll down for my review. 🙂

Lachlan

Book Blurb

Lachlan Ethelred Mackenzie looks like an ordinary sexy university professor, but for over a millennium, he’s been one of a number of his kind trying to steer humanity towards the heavens. But humans are slow and stubborn.

It’s been a long slow journey since the spaceship from Vampyras experienced technical difficulty near Earth in 1006 and the Vampyrs had to abandon ship, and learn to survive on a planet filled with primitive beings.

It’s now 2061, and humanity is heading to Mars – perhaps now the Vampyrs can research space folding technology away from prying human eyes.

Psychologist, Doctor Kate Maxwell is excited about going to Mars—except for one thing – she’s terrified of the journey. A space accident when she was twelve has left her with PTSD and a fear of space travel. But when the handsome Professor, Lachlan Mackenzie becomes her cabin mate she finds herself falling for him all too easily. But why is he so reticent? He’s cute, single and seems altogether perfect.

Things are getting complicated for Lachlan. He’s falling for the sexy red-headed psychologist, his long-lost daughter is on board the spaceship to Mars and she has no clue what or who he is and it seems that the leader of the Vampyr council is plotting something. Lachlan has too many secrets and too many problems. And Kate is the only thing he wants. Can he keep his hands and his fangs away from her? Does he want to? And what will happen if she discovers his secret?

All hell is about to break loose.

This book contains scenes of an adult nature.

My Review – Five Stars!

Fun, Sassy and Sensual – A fab start to a new series! 

Em Taylor’s Discovered is a fun, sassy and sensual read which pairs a sexy space Vampyr/university professor Lachlan MacKenzie with human Psychologist Kate Masters. Set in the future, in Edinburgh, in space and on Mars, it will appeal to readers of paranormal romance and sci-fi romance alike. It is a world where humans are still unaware of the existence of an alien species, Vampyrs, who have been living amongst them for hundreds of years since becoming stranded on Earth.

I loved how the attraction between Lachlan and Kate is so instantaneous. However, their relationship is far from plain sailing due not least to Lachlan’s reticence to get involved with a human again on account of unfortunate experiences in his past. There are a number of misunderstandings and some hilarious scenes as the pair circle around each other even before they embark on their mission to Mars.

Lachlan is one sexy Vampyr – he has looks and brains and manages to combine old world charm with an outlook which is not out of place in the world of 2061 when the novel is set. He tries not to give into his attraction to Kate as he wants to protect her from what his true nature is, lest  he frightens her. Nonetheless, sharing quarters on board ship inevitably leads to some intimate scenes and the sexual tension and mayhem increase and the inevitable happens! Of course initially Kate has no ideas that Lachlan is an alien, least of all a Vampyr and she is suitably shocked when this comes to light: cue a great deal of soul searching amongst some sizzling love-making scenes as to what their future together will be! The read contains a great deal of humour, but also touches on some dark issues from both Lachlan’s and Kate’s past.

I really enjoyed the premise of the novel, that of aliens having lived amongst us for centuries, giving rise to the vampire myths. The novel contains a lot of humour, in particular the character of Meg, the leader of the Vampyr Council, and her interactions with both Kate and Lachlan were priceless! If Lachlan comes across as a little world-weary from his long life as a Vampyr, Meg is positively jaded and I am curious to know exactly what she is plotting and if she too will find her other half!

I recommend Discovered to readers of sci-fi and paranormal romance. Fans of Lindsay Sands Argeneau Vampire series and Evangeline Anderson’s Brides of the Kindred series will especially love this novel. Readers who up until now are only familiar with Em Taylor’s Regency Romances may also wish to indulge. It is a fab start to what promises to be an addictive series.

Reviewed by Tina Williams

Please note a copy of this novel was given to me by the author for the purpose of a fair and honest review.

Purchase Links

Amazon UK   Amazon US

Connect with the Author

WEBSITE    FACEBOOK    TWITTER